Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Elgin Public Schools

Board of Education


Ajax Loading Image


Minutes of Regular Meeting

January 15, 2020

Elgin Public School Board

Regular Meeting

Distance Learning Room, EPS

January 15, 2020, 6:30 PM


Supt. Dan Polk called the regular January meeting to order at 6:32 p.m.  Board members present were Ron Bode, Steve Busteed, Stan Heithoff, Todd Heithoff , Doug Jones, and Lisa Welding.  Administrators present were Superintendent Dan Polk and Principal Greg Wemhoff.


Supt. Polk led the “Pledge of Allegiance.”  He also reminded everyone that a copy of the Nebraska Open Meetings Law was posted in the meeting room.


School board meeting notice complied with Meeting Notice Policy #204.07.


Mr. Polk asked for nominations for board reorganization.  Doug Jones nominated Steve Busteed for board president.  Lisa Welding seconded the motion.  Stan Heithoff motioned that nominations cease and a verbal acclamation vote was held.  All voting Aye, motion carried.


President Busteed then took over the meeting and asked for nominations for Vice President.  Stan Heithoff nominated Lisa Welding for the position, Todd Heithoff second.  Jones moved that nominations cease and a verbal acclamation vote was held.  All voting Aye, motion carried


Ron Bode nominated Doug Jones for Secretary and Stan Heithoff seconded the nomination.  Welding moved that nominations cease and a verbal acclamation vote was held and all voted Aye.  Motion carried.


Todd Heithoff then nominated Stan Heithoff for Treasurer and Bode seconded the motion.  Welding moved that nominations cease and a verbal acclamation vote was held.  All voting Aye, motion carried.


Welding motioned and Stan Heithoff seconded to designate the Official Depository of Funds as the Bank of Elgin and/or Great Plains Bank of Petersburg, the Legal Newspaper as the Elgin Review and/or the Elgin Public School Newsletter/Website, the Bus Inspector as Jonny Dodge and Precision Repair, the Superintendent as the Chief Financial officer and the District's Non-discrimination Compliance Officer and the law firm of KSB School Law as School Attorney.  Vote 6-0, motion carried.


Doug Jones motioned and Todd Heithoff second to approve the Consent Agenda: #5- Minutes of Regular Meeting, #6- Adopt the Agenda, #7- Financial Report, #8- Board Bills. Motion carried, vote 6-0.


President Busteed recognized visitors and asked if the patrons had any comments. 


President Busteed reported on the personnel committee meeting.  Stan Heithoff, Steve Busteed, and Todd Heithoff met last Wed. in regards to the Supt. search.  Applications will be accepted until Friday and interviews will be set up after that.


Principal Wemhoff presented his report of school activities.


Supt. Polk reported on possible summer projects.


There were no action items on the agenda.


Discussion was held on continuing the current Supt. & School Board Evaluation tools.  These will remain the same.  Supt. Polk will continue to obtain estimates on a storage building, dump trailer, locker room benches, bus barn, asphalt south parking, and gym reskinning of ends and roof coating.


Motion by Stan Heithoff, second by Lisa Welding to adjourn the meeting.  Vote 6-0.  Motion carried.  The meeting adjourned at 7:21 p.m.


The School Board Retreat began at 8:05 p.m. and adjourned at 10:25 p.m.  Board goals for the coming year were discussed and no action was taken.


The next regular board meeting will be held February 12, 2020 at 6:30 PM at the EPS Distance Learning Room.


Respectfully submitted,

Doug Jones, Secretary

Paula Jensen, Recorder


 -This is a draft copy and does not become official Elgin Public Board minutes until approved at the next regular or advertised meeting.