Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Elgin Public Schools


Ajax Loading Image


2017 Alumni Banquet

Class of 1967-Richard Draper and Don Carr

The 2017 Elgin High School Alumni Banquet was held on Saturday, June 24, 2017 at the EPS Gym.  A total of 60 alumni, spouses, and guests attended the 7p.m. banquet.  Robin Currie, Class of 1977, traveled the farthest (1600 miles) from Tracy, California.  The oldest alumni member attending the banquet was Phyllis Lawson Kinney from the Class of 1943. She was presented a corsage in celebration of her 74th year since graduation.

Prior to the banquet, an open house was held at Elgin Public School, as well as a social hour shared with St. Boniface at the K.C. Hall.  Approximately 25 alumni toured the school. Laurie Schindler Waterbury, Class of 1980, served as the master of ceremonies.  Tara Reestman Schmitt, Class of 1997, gave the invocation before the baked steak and chicken breast dinner was catered by the L Bar B of Clearwater.  Rita Schrage Heithoff, Class of 1976, provided decorations and took pictures throughout the banquet.

            Following the meal, Waterbury introduced special guests, including EHS Superintendent Dan Polk and Principal Greg Wemhoff, to the banquet. Esther Durre Bush, Class of 1984, gave the welcome to the alumni and the newest graduates of EHS while Kenny Bush, Class of 2017, gave the response to her welcome.  Superintendent Polk then shared some humor with the alumni as well as informed them of some of the new technology being used at the school such as the drone, 3D printer and poster printer.  He also introduced the 2017 graduates of Elgin High School to the alumni.


Laurie Schindler Waterbury-Master of Ceremonies
Five and ten year classes were recognized.  Speakers from the ten year classes were Rich Draper from the Class of 1967, Robin Currie from the Class of 1977, Tara Reestman Schmitt from the Class of 1997 and Taya Voborny from the Class of 2017.  Speakers shared information about their classmates and gave words of encouragement to the Class of 2017 telling them to work hard to get where they want to be in life and to be persistent in their futures.  Two $500 scholarships were presented to Baylee Wemhoff and Taya Voborny. Baylee attended all four years of high school at EPS and plans to attend Peru State College in the fall.  Taya has been at EPS since Kindergarten and plans to attend Wayne State College this fall.  Dewey Carr, Class of 1940, posthumously received the 2017 Elgin High School Honored Alumnus Award.  Don (1967), Brian (1992) and Geoffrey Carr(2017) accepted the award for their father, grandfather and great-grandfather.  Geoffrey is also the 5th generation of Carr’s to graduate from Elgin High School.


Dewey Carr, Class of 1940, was awarded the Honored Alumnus Award.
During the business meeting, the 2016 Alumni Minutes and Financial Report were reviewed.  There was also discussion about future banquets.  The committee asked for suggestions and comments about whether future banquets should cease, be held every 5 years, or continue to be held each year.  The reason for the discussion was because of low attendance at recent banquets and the lack of commitment from individuals to serve on the committee for the banquets.  The committee will gather a group of local alumni to help make a decision as to what will happen concerning future banquets at EHS.  Tentatively, if a yearly banquet is to be continued, next year’s banquet will be on Saturday, June 23, 2018.  The banquet concluded with the School Song. 

Write-up courtesy of Laurie Schindler Waterbury

2017 Alumni Banquet

No comments have been added yet. Please add yours!