Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Elgin Public Schools



Ajax Loading Image


2018 Alumni Banquet

June 23, 2018

75 Years-Class of 1943 Lucille Pelster Jillson and Phyllis Lawson Kinney Oldest Alumni present


The 2018 Elgin High School Alumni Banquet was held on Saturday, June 23, 2018 at the EPS Gym.  A total of 95 alumni, spouses, and guests attended the 7 p.m. banquet. Those traveling the furthest to attend the banquet were Charles Sheets, Class of 1953, from Georgia and Rick Tobias, Class of 1978, from South Carolina, both traveling 1500 miles.  The oldest alumni members attending the banquet were Lucille Pelster Jillson and Phyllis Kinney Lawson from the Class of 1943. Both ladies received corsages in celebration of their 75th reunion.

Prior to the banquet, approximately 30 alumni and guests attended an open house which was held at Elgin Public School.  A social hour was held at Boomerangs where Jessie Krause Reestman, Class of 1987, hosted more than 60 alumni and guests. She entertained them with trivia and music from their honored years.  Dennis Morgan from the Elgin Review, Dylan Widger, Class of 2016, from the Antelope County News and Rita Schrage Heithoff, Class of 1976, took pictures of honored alumni before the banquet. Rita also provided decorations for the event and remained to take pictures throughout the banquet.

The Class of 1978 looks over their yearbooks
Jennifer Bush, Class of 2008, served as Master of Ceremonies.  Becki Schindler, Class of 2008, gave the invocation before the baked steak and chicken breast dinner was catered by the L Bar B of Clearwater. Following the meal, Bush introduced special guests, including EHS Superintendent Dan Polk and his wife, Deb.  In addition to Bush and Schindler, other committee members introduced were Jenna Schindler Prokopec, Class of 2008 and Laurie Schindler Waterbury, Class of 1980. Ronda Capler Behnk, Class of 1985, gave the welcome to the alumni and the newest graduates of EHS while her daughter, Lydia Behnk, Class of 2018, gave the response to the welcome.  Superintendent Polk then shared some humor with the alumni as well as informed them of some of the campus improvements along with the new technology being used at the school such as the drones. He also introduced the 2018 graduates of Elgin High School to the alumni.

Five and ten year classes were recognized and honored.  Speakers were Phyllis Lawson Kinney, Class of 1943, Gene Norton, Class of 1948, Marilyn Clark, Class of 1958, Kathleen Shoemaker Frye, Class of 1968, Kasey Tobias, Class of 1978, Bryan Hestekind, Class of 1998, and Liam Heithoff, Class of 2018.  Speakers shared memories and information about their classmates and time spent at Elgin Public School as well as wishing the best to the Class of 2018. Two $400 scholarships were presented to Myranda Palmer and Liam Heithoff. Myranda will be attending the University of Nebraska at Kearney and Liam will be attending the University of Nebraska at Lincoln.  Bill Kuester, Class of 1968, received the 2018 Honored Alumnus Award. He was honored for his commitment to students and education, his service to his community and his many accomplishments.

Honored Alumnus-Bill Kuester Class of 1968
During the business meeting, the 2017 Alumni Minutes and Financial Report were reviewed.  No questions or concerns were addressed. After much discussion over the past year as whether or not to continue with a yearly banquet , the committee shared with the attending members that the banquet will continue to take place each year. Each alumni class will have a representative to help keep track of classmates for the committee.  The members of the Ten Year Class will continue to serve on the committee, but Laurie Schindler Waterbury will remain as a constant member of each future committee. So with Waterbury, the Class of 2009 will be planning the 2019 banquet on June 22, 2019 (4th Saturday of June). The banquet concluded with the School Song.