Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Elgin Public Schools


Ajax Loading Image


2014 Alumni Banquet

June 21, 2014

Bessie Nissen Hawks Class of 1929 (85th Reunion) Oldest Alumni


The 2014 Elgin High School Banquet was held on Saturday, June 21, at the Elgin Publlic School Gym in Elgin.  A total of 110 alumni, spouses, and guests from all over the United States attended the 7 p.m. banquet.  Mike Meis , Class of 1991, came the furthest from Stockton, California.

Prior to the banquet an open house was held at Elgin Public School.  Laurie Schindler Waterbury, Class of 1980, served as the master of ceremonies.  Darline Durre Warner, Class of 1986, gave the prayer and then the L Bar B Steakhouse of Clearwater served a delicious meal of chicken breast and baked steak. 

Darline Durre Warner and Laurie Schindler Waterbury stepped down as Alumni officers. They have organized and hosted the banquet for many years. Their hard work is very much appreciated!
Following the meal EHS Superintendent Dan Polk and Principal Greg Wemhoff were introduced, along with the 2014 alumni committee.  Two of our oldest alumni members, Bessie Nissen Hawks (Class of 1929) and Bertha Beckman Farris (Class of 1934) were each presented with a basket of flowers.  Bessie celebrated her 85th reunion, and Bertha celebrated her 80th reunion.

Wendy Schindler Voborny, Class of 1989, (a Centennial Class graduate) gave the welcome to the class of 2014 and Madison Voborny, Class of 2014 (a Q125 Class graduate) gave the response.

Mr. Polk shared a few jokes with the alumni, and he also shared some information about himself and his family.  He informed the group about past school improvements such as the heating and cooling systems and the addition of new lights and bleachers at the football field.  Recognized were the 5 year classes of 1939, 1949, 1959, 1969, 1979, 1999, and 2009.  The honored classes and their speakers were 1934-Bertha Beckman Farris, 1944-Ralph Lawson, 1974-Barb Reestman Meyer, 1984-Julie Schrage Krause, 1989-Wendy Schindler Voborny, 2004-Lauren Childers, and 2014-Ivy Prater. 

Kathy Jillson, Class of 1975, spoke about her father, Dr. Dale B. Jillson and shared that the family wished to present a $1000 scholarship to a 2014 graduating senior to honor his memory.  The Dr. Dale B. Jillson Scholarship was given to Brett Kinney.  The alumni also awarded $500 scholarships to two members of the Class of 2014.  Receiving scholarships were Bailey Carpenter and Madison Voborny.  The Honored Alumnus Award was presented to 1934 graduate Bertha Beckman Farris for contributions to her school, community and society. 

Class of 2014-Madison Voborny, Bailey Carpenter, Ivy Prater, Hunter Thramer and Hannah Kerkman
During the business meeting, the 2013 Alumni Minutes and 2013 Financial Report were reviewed.  The 2014 committee also announced that beginning with the 2015 banquet, the 10 year class will be in charge of the banquet each year.  With no objections from the alumni, the Senior Class Officers  and their class members, (with help from the previous year committee members) will be planning next year’s banquet.  Next year the banquet will be held on the 4th Saturday of June.   The 2015 EHS banquet will be held on June 27th at the EPS Gym.

The banquet concluded with the school song which was led by volunteers from our EHS alumni.

Write up courtesy of Laurie Schindler Waterbury

Dale Jillson Scholarship